Replacing old 2 prong outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-31-02, 04:02 PM
dylan925
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Replacing old 2 prong outlets

When replacing old 2 prong outlets that are fed by armored cable is it correct to connect the ground screw on the new outlet to the box? This assumes that I meter from hot to box and get voltage.

I have spoken to one electrician that tells me that research has been done showing that the old armored cable can become red hot if there is a ground fault. With this in mind he said the correct thing to do is jump the neutral to the ground screw.

I am assuming 120v circuits and not GFCI.

What's the code say guys? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-31-02, 05:19 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Absolutely DO NOT connect the neutral to ground at an outlet.
Assuming the armored cable is terminated well, yes connect the ground screw on the outlet to the armored cable through the box.
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-02, 07:00 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinios
Posts: 258
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with Ron The first electrician was totally WRONG!!
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-02, 07:56 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jumpering the neutral and grounding connections is just about the stupidest thing you can do. To do so very significantly increases the electrocution danger in your home. It's much better to leave the grounding connection unconnected than it would be to use the jumper.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: