Breaker Box

Old 05-30-02, 12:21 PM
News Clear
Visiting Guest
Breaker Box

Let me start by saying that I am a remodeling novice and don't intend to do any kind of electrical work without the help of a professional.

That said, I am looking for some advice as I am planning the new design for my kitchen. The building is a highrise, built in 1964.

The issue is with the Breaker Box (I don't even know if that's the right term). It is in the kitchen, right in the middle of everything. We do not plan to move it, because I have been told that would cost an arm and a leg, but we are hoping to work around it creatively.

To that end, I have several questions:

Are there space reqirements between the breaker box and the edge of a wall? Also, how far does a stove need to be from the breaker box? And is it possible to creatively disguise a breaker box without negatively affecting the functionality of it?

We wanted to open up the wall around the breaker box as much as possible to create a new entryway to the kitchen and a pass-through counter-top, but we want to make sure our plans will work before we get an electrician and handyman in and before we order new kitchen cabinets.

Just FYI, before we bought the place an amateur job was done and the breaker box was built directly behind a kitchen cabinet... with the shelving blocking access. Obviously we don't want to make stupid mistakes like that, so any advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

I am attaching a file of what the kitchen wall with the breaker box looks like right now. Most of the wall around it has been removed so we could better understand what we are working with.

Thanks again for your help!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-30-02, 03:50 PM
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
YOU SAID;