Sub Panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-00, 05:48 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

I'm planning on adding a sub panel to my garage. I'm figuring on
using a 100 amp, 6 circuit panel. I can't imagine that I would be
drawing more than 30-40 amps at any given time with just lights, radio,
compressor, and one power tool at a time. I assume I connect the sub to
my main with a 240 breaker, correct? What size? What size wire should I
use for a 15-18 foot run between the panels? Would it be a good idea to
use a GFCI breaker in my main panel for the sub main (if so, what size?), or just GFCI
breakers in the sub panel? Thanks for any advice!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-00, 01:17 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

hi mike,
ok yes u install a 240 breaker, i would put in a 100 amp and pull in #4 wire this is good in a home 4 100 amps as a feeder which is what u r doing, this provides room 4 future expansion shuld u decide 2 add a welder or such, the cost of the wire wount be that much more and breakers r abought the same as well. as to installing a gfci as the feed breakeer i wouldnt. i wouldnt even install gfci breakers i would put gfcis in the first outlet on each circuit that u r installing outlets and feed the others its much cheaper this way. also i would put nothing smaller than 20 amp circuits on the outlets which requires #12 wire and 15 on the lighting which is #14, noo need to gfci the lighting. also in your sub panel dont bond the ground bar and the nutural together (ie puting a piece of wire between the nutural and ground or the bonding clip between the nutural and panel)
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-00, 05:04 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Corection,
A 100 amp service will require a #3 rated wire whether it is THW or THHN.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-00, 10:46 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

david yes according to tabel 310-16 of the nec u need #3 but according to note 3 of the ampacity tabels in a 120/240 singel-phase deweling # 4 is rated 100 amps
 
  #5  
Old 01-26-00, 05:03 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Spky,
Note three is not applicable. This is a sub panel. It is not either the service entrance nor the feeders to the main panel (wires after a main disconnect at the meter for example) A sub panel is a branch feeder and cannot be derated.
 
  #6  
Old 01-26-00, 11:08 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

well thats what i origionaly thought as well. but the people i work 4 had me do it on a home and i ? it at that time, also asked inspector here, he said it was ok 2 do it it was in how the code is interpertiped.........not saying u r wrong nor am i saying im right
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-00, 06:34 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Hey Sprky,
That's 90-c. What they say goes.
Trouble is, you never really know what that is.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: