Flourescent light

Old 06-17-02, 12:20 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Flourescent light

My attic currently has 1 pull chain porcelain with a 2nd bare bulb plugged into the outlet on the first pull chain fixture and mounted about 8ft down (old school, I know)which are operated by a switch at the base of the staire. I was wondering if I could replace the 2 single bulb fixtures with a 1 light 4ft flourescent mounted in the middle of the attic. I'm not a big fan of flourescent lighting but this is the atic and these lights are constantly burning out becuase they get left on. My quesions are the following. The wiring is old and I may need to move the box down about 3ft, can I just use a junction box and connect the old wire to new style? When I install the flourescent is there anythng special I need to look out for? What is a ballast? (yeah I know, what a newbie question, but I've never done flourescent before). I have decent experience with DIY electrical work but I've never done flourescent before and don't want to mess anything up. Thanks for your help.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-02, 01:16 PM
J
Yes, you can do this. You don't really need to know what a ballast is -- just hook up the new fixture according to directions. Fluorescent fixtures work better if they have a grounding connection. If it gets cold in your attic, the light might not work in the winter unless you buy a cold-weather fixture.

Old 06-17-02, 04:31 PM