Baseboard Heat Connections

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-28-00, 01:10 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Need help wiring 240 volt baseboard heat.
Unit has one black, one red, and ground.
Double breaker in subpanel. Which wires connect to which wires?


 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-28-00, 07:23 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

Should have black and red (both hot - connect to double breaker), one white (neutral) to neutral bar where all others are, and bare or green (ground) to ground bar.
 
  #3  
Old 03-28-00, 09:12 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Red and black each go to one pole of the breaker and the ground goes to the ground bar.
 
  #4  
Old 03-29-00, 10:49 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by gregdam:
Need help wiring 240 volt baseboard heat.
Unit has one black, one red, and ground.
Double breaker in subpanel. Which wires connect to which wires?

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Baseboard unit does not have a white lead.
Full story- 100 amps main service panel in house. 30 amps double breaker on main panel out to subpanel in garage on 6/3 gauge wire.
Basebord heater only has black, red, and ground; no white. Tried the following: Black to one pole on double breaker (20 amp), Red to the other pole on double breaker, Ground to ground bar on subpanel. This tripped the main service in the house. Baseboard heater is 6.3 amps, so I think I'm ok with that. Any other replies will be greatly appreciated.
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-00, 05:31 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

The wiring hookup is correct as shown by others.
However, since the breaker in the panel in house is tripping you may have an overload.
The heater may be only 6.3 amps but it may the the straw that is breaking the load capacity. check your main with an amp probe, if you have one, to see what your load is.
The only other possibility is that you have a massive dead short somewhere in the heater.
 
  #6  
Old 03-29-00, 07:28 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Try turning off or unplugging everything possible. Turn the heater unit back on. If it trips again you have a short circuit. It is prematurely grounding itself, thus tripping the breaker.

How old is the heater?

------------------
MTAC - Van Buren,MO
www.carpenter.cjb.net
Home repair & Construction

"Where the character and work are always upright"

Anything worth cutting down a tree for, is worth doing right.
www.toolreview.cjb.net

[This message has been edited by More than a Carpenter (edited March 29, 2000).]
 
  #7  
Old 03-30-00, 07:47 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

hello gregdam,
you wired the heaters correctly black to 1 leg of breaker and red to other and green to ground. you have 1 of several possabil situations going on here eather the heater is maxing out the 100 amp main breaker and causeing it to trip (check with an amp probe with hearte off), your 100 amp main breaker is weak (if amp probe shows less than 80 amps), the heater has a short in it (check with all other breakers turned off, also if breaker holds check with amp probe) , or the heater has a bad heating element (check with ohm meter element to ground).
 
  #8  
Old 04-01-00, 07:44 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Most, if no all, 220V only appliances, such
as an electric basboard heater, have no need for a neutral. If the cable ran to the heater
has a neutral, you can just cap it and leave it there.
 
  #9  
Old 04-03-00, 10:53 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking

Thanks everybody for your help.
As it turns out, the thermostat supplied with the heater was bad. Purchased new wall mounted thermostat, everything works fine.
Again thanks for the help. It reassures me to know there is knowledgable help when its needed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: