Electrical

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-02, 09:24 AM
P
phoobear2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Electrical

How do you convert an A/C unit from 220 to a 110 line
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-02, 09:30 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You most likely cannot (except with a large and expensive transformer).
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-02, 10:35 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why would you want to make that conversion?
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-02, 11:15 AM
P
phoobear2
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I was told that you can convert from a 220 down to a 110 that is why I was inquireing
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-02, 12:42 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
220V to 110V is possible. It's not possible to go from 110 to 220V, at least not without a step-up transformer. If your appliance needs 220V then you need to bring 220V to that location (2 hot wires and a neutral). They also have to be on oposite phases (each side of the double breaker needs to be on different bus bars). This way you'll have 220V between the two black wires, and 110V between any black and white wire. You probably should have a ground wire also.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-02, 09:12 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Again,,, why would you want to do this,,, just curious?
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-02, 09:29 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
phoobear2 has a 220-volt air conditioner and a 110-volt receptacle. This is all being discussed in another thread also started by phoobear2.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: