can co\alr gorunding switches be used with copper wiring


  #1  
Old 07-07-02, 09:35 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
can co\alr gorunding switches be used with copper wiring

just wondering if I can use co/alr grounding switch with copper wiring
 
  #2  
Old 07-07-02, 10:35 AM
DaveB.inVa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sure can! The co part of the rating takes care of that.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-02, 11:04 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Originally posted by DaveB.inVa
Sure can! The co part of the rating takes care of that.

co means?

cu I know is copper..
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-02, 02:40 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes. CO/ALR replaces the older AL-CU and CU-AL designations. The "R" stands for "revised". Not sure why they decided to change the "U" to an "O" at the same time. Maybe they thought that not everybody had sufficiently studied their periodic table in high school.
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-02, 06:01 PM
Wirenut33
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Just wondering, but why would you want to use a CO/AL rated device on copper wire?? They run in the area of $3-5, while you can get a standard switch rated for use with copper only for around $0.36
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-02, 06:46 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Originally posted by Wirenut33
Just wondering, but why would you want to use a CO/AL rated device on copper wire?? They run in the area of $3-5, while you can get a standard switch rated for use with copper only for around $0.36
Good point. I just happened to have them in hand.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: