Grounding 220

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-09-02, 07:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grounding 220

I have seen the error of my evil ways and am running a 4th wire to sub panels in my shop. Steel building. I did this many years ago and am correcting the error. Is a 12 wire adequate or do I need a 10? Can I hook the compressor grounds to the neutral buss in a sub? 220
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-02, 07:06 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Depends on the size of the breaker in the main panel that protects the hot wires. What is it?

No, you can't hook any grounding wires to the neutral bus in the subpanel.
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-02, 08:18 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a 60 feeding the sub.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-02, 08:23 PM
M
MTgets
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
different breaker

I may be out on a limb here, but I think John wanted to know the size of the breaker for the compressor, not the breaker feeding the sub, if it is a 30amp you need 10 awg, 20 amp 12awg
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-02, 08:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
he asked for the breaker at the main. I need t get a code book,,, just havnt been to the supply store in a while. Been using HD for stuff and I looked there and no code books.
 
  #6  
Old 07-09-02, 09:09 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, sberry27, you did answer the question I asked, but I can't seem to find the answer in the code. I think the answer is #8, but I'd like some support on that.
 
  #7  
Old 07-09-02, 09:19 PM
W
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If we are talking about the equipment grounding conductor ran with your 60 amp feeder you hots should be 6 awg copper with a minimum size equipment grounding conductor of 10 awg copper ran with that feeder to serve a four wire feeder to that detached garage per 250.122 of the NEC

If you are talking about the grounding electrode conductor from a ground rod to the panel in the detached garage John is right. You would need a minimum grounding electrode conductor size of 8 awg copper per 250.66 of the NEC.

Hope this helps

Wg
 
  #8  
Old 07-09-02, 09:32 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it helps,,, I bought a roll of 12 today for another thing,,, I guess its back for a roll of 10. Thats kind of what I thought,,, just wasnt sure. I will be out of your hair shortly as doon as I get 10 years of code violations fixed up.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: