breaker won't reset

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-10-02, 01:46 PM
M
mooso
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question breaker won't reset

I have a circuit that controls a small mudroom (1 switch, 1 outlet) and an outside shed (also 1 switch, 1 outlet). Recently the breaker won't reset. When I turn it off and then back on again, it trips immediately.

I will try a new breaker, but if it is not the breaker - how do I go about checking the wiring to find the problem?

Also, nothing is plugged in to the outlets, and the light switches are off.

I am worried that it is a problem with the wiring that goes underground to the shed. Is it possible to cap that off and have everything else work? I don't care if there is electric at the shed.

Sorry for babbling - thanks in advance for any advice.

Mooso
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-10-02, 02:28 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stop. Don't change the breaker, at least not yet. It is unlikely to be the source of the problem.

Yes, the underground wiring might be the problem. See if you can figure out where the wire leaves the house and disconnect that end of it. It's probably in the switch or outlet box in the mud room. Then see if you can reset the breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-02, 02:37 PM
M
mooso
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks John - I'll give that a try tonight
 
  #4  
Old 07-10-02, 07:28 PM
M
mooso
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
John-

Thanks a million! I did what you said and you were right. It was not the breaker - it was the outside wiring. The mudroom works now, and I will run new wire for the outside.

Thanks again,
mooso
 
  #5  
Old 07-11-02, 08:07 AM
G
Gary Tait
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Have you determined the underground wiring at fault?
It could be something in the shed at fault.
 
  #6  
Old 07-11-02, 08:42 AM
M
mooso
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You are right Gary - I jumped the gun in stating I would immediately run new wiring - it got dark and I couldn't fully check everything. I just disconnected the wiring to the shed and got the mudroom to work.

I will check everything before running new wire - especially since my shed is a good 150 feet from the house and with my luck, pulling the wire will end up being quite a job.

Thanks for the reply,
mooso
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: