"Outlet in shed?"

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-02, 05:29 AM
C
Charley
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
"Outlet in shed?"

Hi All,

Have a 10x12 building behind my garage that I would like to install one outlet. The building is about 20-25 feet from the garage. I have three outlets in the garage which I would like to come off one to the building with. Should I find the end of the line outlet or does it make a difference? Since the building and the back of garage is out of sight thought I would leave the wire exposed rather than burying it? Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

Charley
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-02, 06:58 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can tap off a middle outlet or an end outlet. Doesn't make any difference.

I'll offer some other suggestions. If the circuit is not already GFCI protected, replace the outlet you tap off of with a GFCI receptacle, and connect the cable to the load side. You may need some pigtails to make all the connections. Use UF cable, and bury it at least 12" deep -- you really can't just leave it exposed. Protect the cable where above ground with 3/4" electrical PVC conduit. I recommend 12/2 UF cable.

Most importantly, read a good book or two on home wiring before you start. This project is a good one for a novice electrical DIYer, but you still need to know quite a few things before you start.
 
  #3  
Old 07-17-02, 08:39 AM
C
Charley
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
"Outlet in shed?"

John,

Thanks for the quick reply and the information. Have a basic book, all I need to do is find it. <g> Moving is such a pain and still going through box after box.

Charley
 
  #4  
Old 07-17-02, 06:15 PM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 695
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Re: "Outlet in shed?"

Originally posted by Charley
John,

Thanks for the quick reply and the information. Have a basic book, all I need to do is find it. <g> Moving is such a pain and still going through box after box.

Charley
Been there, done that, bought the Tshirt and the hat and I have no plans to go back. I even told them to take me off of the mailing list! Good luck finding your life in all of those boxes.

You will need to install a box in your shed with a switch in it at the point were the circuit enters the shed. That box makes a great place to change from UF to NM cable. The switch does not need to be anything special it just serves as a place to deeneergize the shed. It is formally known as a building disconnecting means.

225.31 Disconnecting Means.
Means shall be provided for disconnecting all ungrounded conductors that supply or pass through the building or structure.
225.32 Location.
The disconnecting means shall be installed either inside or outside of the building or structure served or where the conductors pass through the building or structure. The disconnecting means shall be at a readily accessible location nearest the point of entrance of the conductors. For the purposes of this section, the requirements in 230.6 shall be permitted to be utilized.
225.38 Disconnect Construction.
Disconnecting means shall meet the requirements of 225.38(A) through (D).
Exception: For garages and outbuildings on residential property, snap switches or sets of 3-way or 4-way snap switches shall be permitted as the disconnecting means.

--
Tom
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: