Underground circuit.

Old 07-20-00, 10:53 AM
Visiting Guest
I am running a 110v circuit out to my in the back yard. I have seen the grey pvc schd40 at Home Depot. Is this what I should use?

I do not want to run the underground rated romex, instead I want piping. The grey pvc sold in the electrical department does not look as watertight as the pvc for water, that is why I ask. Also, to be safe, I am thinking of running indoor romex thru the piping instead of single wires off a spool. I want to do this as a precaution because I am not a professional electrician. Does this sound like a safe idea?

How deep should I bury it in Missouri? I'm not asking for city codes, etc, just a professional opinion.

Mark

[This message has been edited by Mark Chapman (edited July 20, 2000).]

Old 07-20-00, 12:18 PM
Visiting Guest
As I understand it, the grey PVC for wire and the white PVC for water are pretty much the same thing. The only reason they have different colors is so that you can tell what it is when you dig it up.

So why don't you be extra safe and run underground rated romex inside the pipe. The cost difference isn't that much.

I'm not an electrician either. How about an unprofessional opinion? I'd bury it at least a foot deep, just to get it out of shovel range. Actually, I overdo everything, so I'd probably even bury it even deeper.

Old 07-20-00, 01:25 PM
Visiting Guest
Per UBC - direct bury - 24", Rigid/IMC - 6", Nonmetallic residential (120 volt 20 amp max.) - 12".

Personally, I would use pvc buried atleast 12" deep, with sand backfill for part of the depth. The sand makes for a better bedding of the conduit and gives the next guy a clue that there is a conduit there.

As for wiring, use solid #12 THHN, it is rated for use in conduit. I would not use romex inside conduit, because it would be very hard to pull through the conduit and the insulation is not rated for use inside conduit. Be sure to include a ground wire and use a GFCI outlet or circuit breaker.