Klein or Leatherman?

Old 07-25-02, 08:00 AM
Thirdeep
Visiting Guest
Klein or Leatherman?

hello I am looking into purchasing a good quality multi-purpose tool such as the kind you carry on your belt. I do alot of electrical and maint. type work. I have looked at some brands such as Klein, Gerber, Sog, Leatherman. They all seem to have thier good points but as far as quality and all around purpose which mini-tool would you purchase. price is not an issue quality is though. thank you.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-25-02, 08:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Find one you like, has the features you want, and for quality...get something made in the USA or Germany. If it says china, japan, taiwan, korea, etc... stay away from it. Gerber is a good name brand, the others you mentioned may be too, but I have no experience with them.

Old 07-25-02, 09:30 PM
NutAndBoltKing
Visiting Guest
Back in 1982 or 83 my brother went on a vacation out west and discovered the Leatherman in a tackle shop. He liked it and bought one back for me. That was one of the best things he ever did.

That's about twenty years of service, I feel naked without it, and I've never been able to kill it off. It's survived falls of over 10 floors of open steel, has often been misused as a chisel, and was finally sharpened down to a stub.

I only retired it last year because my grandson gave me a new Leatherman PST. I like it better than the old one, and I must use it 10 - 15 times a day at work as an ornamental ironworker in NYC. It's great for anything from sharpening pencils, cutting tie wires, opening boxes, fixing cords, stripping wire; you name it - it does it.

I use it a lot at home, and it's been very valuable to me in my volunteer fire department work. I've used it to mitigate electrical shorts, shut gas, pull hinge pins, and just last week I used it to cut a baby car seat out of a burning car, and then to twist the car battery cables off.