Which table saw??

Old 12-03-02, 09:18 AM
CLIMBNUTT
Visiting Guest
Which table saw??

I'm in the market for a new table saw.I am not a proffessional woodworker or carpenter so the work I would be doing will be kept in the basement-light woodworking projects,etc.I am confused about belt drive vs. direct drive.Am I wasting my money buying a direct drive? I have my eyes on a delta for around $220.I realize the belt drives are more expensive but I don't want to spend much more than $250. Are direct drives worth buying?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-03-02, 01:00 PM
Super Moderator
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
CLIMBNUTT:

You really don't get much for $250.00.
A table saw is the heart of a woodworking tool collection.

A budget is a budget, but might be one you may not be sorry blowing or waiting untill you can afford a better one.

I have seen some decent direct drive saws. The difference is in the mitre guide, fence and top.

Old 12-03-02, 06:02 PM
Specter
Visiting Guest
There's not much that can go wrong with a table saw that will cost much to fix except the motor. With a direct drive, it means a major cash out lay to replace it. With a belt driven saw, it's just the motor. While not all that cheap either, it's a lot less expensive that the direct drive. You may get lucky & find an inexpensive motor.
Also, once you get a table saw, you'll be surprised at all of the cutting you will use it for that you use to do with a circular saw.

Old 12-04-02, 04:31 AM
B
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I have a belt drive Craftsman. The thing really like about it is that I was able to put an adjustable sheave pulley (not sure if thats the right terminology) on the motor so that I can adjust arbor speed for different attachments. Just have to be careful not to exceed recommended speeds for the various attachments.

BTW, my dad has a Craftsman table saw with a cable that drives the arbor. After about 3 or 4 years the cable broke and it cost well over $100 for a new one.