flashlight ?

Old 12-03-02, 11:50 PM
josh1
Visiting Guest
flashlight ?

ok this is about tools sorta,
I love mag lights, and local store has a 3d and mini mag for only 15 bucks! a deal!

SO i bought several lol, My friend tells me I shouldnt store the flashlights with the batteries in the correct polarity, because it will drain the batteries. I think hes just wrong wrong, I have no electrical engineering degree, but how can the batteries drain if theres no circuit? So my ? ( importatn as we wagered on this!)

If i have a for simplicity 2A flashlight, and i install the batteries in the normal way the negative to positive polairty, will they drain somehow?

Does it actually extend the battery life to store them with the batteries facing the wrong way, ie positive to positive, then switch them when you need them?

Prove me right and I get free dinner! heres hoping THanks-Josh

Sponsored Links
Old 12-04-02, 04:59 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Josh1,

Like you, I'm no electrical engineer. But I've ruined a few good flashlights over the years due to leaking. Store the batteries NEXT to the flashlight! Doesn't settle the bet, but it's a better answer.
fred

Old 12-04-02, 11:38 AM
Super Moderator
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Hey!........good deal, where can I get one?

josh1:

The direction the batteries face will in NO WAY affect the life of the batteries.

When the flashlight is turned off, an open circuit is an open circuit.....no current will flow.

The leaking matter is a different story.
As fewalt points out, batteries laying next to a device will never damage it WHEN they leak.

Old 12-06-02, 01:15 PM
josh1
Visiting Guest
AHa!

Well im wrong hes right. Typical!
I went straight to Duracell on this one..

--------
December 6, 2002

Mr. XXXX,

Thank you for contacting Duracell and visiting our website.