How do I chg a belt sander belt?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-16-03, 11:05 AM
jtspears
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question How do I chg a belt sander belt?

We "inherited" my grandfather's belt sander when he died and I'd like to use it, but I don't know how to get the old sanding belt off. It's a Craftsman 3"x21" belt sander, model number 31511721. I don't have a manual and I already searched the web and came up with nothing. I don't see any kind of lever or handle that will move to loosen the old belt. Any help greatly appreciated!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-16-03, 11:12 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,555
Go to Sears.com. There is an exploded view and parts list. An instruction sheet is $4.99.
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-03, 11:50 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
jtspears:

If you go here you will be able to enter your model number as the_tow_guy suggested.

I looked and couldn't see a release lever.
You may have to turn screw # 49 - tracking screw to move the idler wheel enough to run the belt off under power.
 
  #4  
Old 09-16-03, 01:01 PM
jtspears
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I looked at the diagram and agree it must be tracking screw #49. Only problem -- it's rusted on as tight as can be!
 
  #5  
Old 09-16-03, 01:13 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
jtspears:

The most important thing is to make sure you have a screwdriver that is precisely the correct size.
Too loose and you will be looking for some vice-grips.
Also a repeated application of penetrating oil over a couple of days would give you the best chance of success.

Good luck and let us know how it turns out.
 
  #6  
Old 09-16-03, 01:18 PM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
That machine is made by Ryobi for Sears. You may try contacting www.ryobitools.com and seeing what they can tell you.

I have had good luck with getting owner's manuals out of them at N/C by supplying the model and manual # from the Sears.com website.
 
  #7  
Old 09-16-03, 03:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
I had a belt sander once that didn't have a release lever. You put the sander up on the front roller and gave it a good push. The front roller popped back and locked so you could change the belt. Then you stuck a screwdriver in behind it and popped it back out.
 
  #8  
Old 09-16-03, 03:12 PM
jtspears
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
THANK YOU!! That worked!
 
  #9  
Old 09-16-03, 06:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 5,599
Glad to help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'