Hand Riveting

Old 01-05-04, 12:15 AM
Ryan
Visiting Guest
Hand Riveting

Does anyone have any advice on hand riveting? I have never done it before and would like to know that im doing it right.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-04, 04:30 AM
Are you meaning pop-rivets or the other kind?

Old 01-05-04, 08:14 AM
Super Moderator
Ryan:

If it's pop rivets you are referring to you first must make sure the hole is the recommended size for the rivet you are using and the rivet is the correct length for the thickness of the material. This info will be stated on the package.
Also you must choose a rivet material to minimize galvanic corrosion. Aluminum rivets on aluminum, etc.
If you are rivetting a soft material or need extra strength be sure to use a backing rivet designed for that purpose.
Make sure if you have an interchangeable size gun you have the correct sized insert.
When drilling holes for multiple rivets ensure the piece doesn't move as it will buckle if the holes are not perfectly aligned. I will insert rivets in the holes after each is drilled if I'm not fastening it right away.

If solid rivets and appearance and strength are important you must use a punch and mandrel designed to conform to the rivet head shape.

Old 01-19-04, 02:56 PM
rivets

I do lots of rivets in my trade as an aircraft mechanic. To do solid rivets you will need a rivet gun 4X and bucking bars and sets for the rivet either flush or dimple. Or you can use a squeeze with looks like a c clamp but has a piston that closes the jaws with the sets in it. Very high dollar. The important thing is hole size and preperation.Clean all metal shavings from between your sheets.
Or you can go pop rivet this is the easy way but not always the strongest unless you have a steel shank that locks in place with a collar.
Practice Practice and more Practice.
If you go the solid route make sure you get a rivet gun NOT an air hammer they look the same but the trigger is variable. They come in sizes from 2X to 9X.