Drill Bits

Old 02-17-04, 11:23 AM
asennad
Visiting Guest
Drill Bits

How do I sharpen drill bits. I do not have a bench grinder nor do I have the money right now to buy one nor a drill Dr.

Any other methods?

Old 02-17-04, 07:58 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Most people cannot sharpen a drill by using a grinder. I was a machinist and spent many hours learning how using the proper tools. If you cannot buy a drill doctor, find someone who has one. If you live close to me I will sharpen them for you.

Old 02-18-04, 06:12 AM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: asennad. Welcome into my Sharpening Shop Forum Topic.

Without a bench grinder or drill bit sharpener, for the time being, select those bits which you will be using for whatever project you have going or intend to use the bits for and have them professionally sharpened.

Sharpening shops should be located nearby. The shops or places to have sharpening done will be listed in the phone book. Also done at some small engine shops and hardware stores.

The costs vary based on the type of bit but non are expensive. Doing it this way for now will get the current project you need the bits for done. Later you can buy a drill bit sharpener.

Sharp Advice.
Web Sites Host, Forums Monitor & Sharpening Forum Moderator.
Accurate Power Equipment Company. Complete Saw and Tool Sharpening Services. TCB4U2B2B Enterprises. Sharp Advice Business Management Services.

Old 02-18-04, 07:15 PM
asennad
Visiting Guest
Is it worth it to take them into a shop or just buy new bits?

I would love to buy cobalt bits - would probably stay sharp longer- but I don't know if they could sharpen them.

Old 03-04-04, 06:42 AM
Save your money on new bits and buy a drill dr. If you really need sharp bits, take the specific ones you need and get those professionally done as sharp advice stated.

Old 03-05-04, 08:04 PM
H
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
unless your in the trades