Chain Saw

Old 02-26-04, 04:00 AM
Resaw
Visiting Guest
Chain Saw

I'm about to head down to Home Depot to pick up a chain file, for my chain saw. I am a rookie at sharpening chains. Wondering about the do's and don'ts to this. And any tips would be invited. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-26-04, 06:41 AM
Admin Emeritus
Hello: Resaw

Chain saw chain cutters come in several sizes. Using the correct round file size is required. If possible, take a small chain with you as a sample.

You'll also need a flat file to lower the depth gauges. The depth gauges are in front of the cutting teeth. They determine the cutting depths of the teeth. They really only need to be checked and lowered, if needed, every other sharpening.

Also needed is a flate metal measuring gauge. (Hope I am using the correct term here. Slight touch of a "Senior Moment" just set in...haha, kindly excuse me)

The flat gauge is used to determine the height of the depth gauges in relationship to the cutting teeth. More on this later, since your about to leave and I wanted to get this reply posted asap.

Best, but not required, to purchase a chain holding device or jig which can be held in a common work shop vise.

Leather work shop gloves to protect hands and safety goggles should be used at all times for personal injury protection.

H/D? Shop Lowes. They are one of our paid sponsors...LOL!

Sharp Advice.
Web Sites Host, Forums Monitor & Sharpening Forum Moderator.
Accurate Power Equipment Company. Complete Saw and Tool Sharpening Services. TCB4U2B2B Enterprises. Sharp Advice Business Management Services.

Last edited by Sharp Advice; 02-27-04 at 06:56 AM.
Old 02-26-04, 05:26 PM
Resaw
Visiting Guest
Ha ha...Lowes....Not one close to me. Maybe you can Let them know that little old me is waiting for one to pop up.