Drill recommendation needed

Old 03-25-04, 02:00 PM
Drill recommendation needed

I'm doing an outdoor malibu lighting project, and I need to drill through 6 bricks (possibly more) that are 3 3/4" thick each (I have to drill through them singly, they are not stacked against each other). I will be running that 12 guage outdoor wire thru the holes, and that wire measures about 3/8" wide.

I'm wondering what kind of drill (and masonry bit) would make quick work of something like this. I have a good 12V cordless that I use to drill into cinder block every once in a while, but this is my first time drilling brick, and it looks tougher than block.

Any recommendations for this? cordless would be great, but corded is fine for a significant cost savings or power boost. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-25-04, 04:07 PM
A carbide tipped masonary bit should make quick work of brick.

Old 03-25-04, 04:33 PM
Resaw
Visiting Guest
The only other thing i would add to Dave's reply to you is, for the drill make it a hammer drill. If it's only going through one brick (most likely 4") the drill doesn't have to be spectacularly huge. Just a mid size drill will be fine.

Old 03-25-04, 05:42 PM
Super Moderator
LateBloomer:

I agree that you should use a small hammer drill.
Even though it's only six bricks it would be tough going for a carbide bit in a regular drill.

If you don't have any other immediate use for a hammer drill, renting would be an economical option.

Old 03-26-04, 10:04 AM
Thanks for all the replys. I was kinda thinkin I might need a hammer drill, but wasn't sure what kind of jobs required a step up to a hammer drill. Do hammer drills use the same bits as regular drills?

I have a 10% off coupon for home depot, so I might go ahead and pick one up. If the wife wants outdoor lights, then it's gonna cost!

Old 03-26-04, 10:17 AM