Wrench for adjustable post base?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-04, 07:06 PM
moosejaw
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Wrench for adjustable post base?

Hello all,

I am building a new deck and I am using Simpson Strong Tie 4x6 adjustable post bases to secure my posts to the cement. The probelm that I am having is that every wrench I own cannot fit into the area to adjust the post base. I need a very narrow wrench to adjust the 15/16" bolt. I don't need a thin wrench, but I need a narrow one. Am I making sense?

Thanks!

Matt
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-23-04, 07:18 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
do you have a grinding wheel ?
 
  #3  
Old 06-23-04, 08:07 AM
moosejaw
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Nope

Nope!

Any other suggestions?

Matt
 
  #4  
Old 06-23-04, 07:26 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Im not faamiliar with what you are trying to do

since you cant grind your own wrench to fit have you tried the simpson website ? maybe they make a wrench to fit

have you talked to the distribitor you got them from ?

unless you have a specialized installation there must be something that others are using
 
  #5  
Old 06-23-04, 07:58 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
Matt,

Is this what you have:

<img src="http://www.strongtie.com/graphics/products/large/AB-ABE-ABA-ABU.gif">
Image credit: strongtie.com

Here is strongtie's web site. Maybe you can find yours if the one pictured is not right.
 
  #6  
Old 06-24-04, 06:06 AM
moosejaw
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
mango man

I contacted Simpson and they told me that they "could not suggest a wrench manufacturer". Huh?

Greg H

My base looks like<br>

<img src="http://www.strongtie.com/graphics/products/large/AB-ABE-ABA-ABU4.gif">

<br>

<i>Image credit: strongtie.com</i>

<br>

except it's 4x6 instead of 4x4.

Thanks!

Matt
 
  #7  
Old 06-24-04, 06:20 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
Matt,

It appears by the picture that you would attach the base and then install the wooden post.
 
  #8  
Old 06-24-04, 10:04 AM
moosejaw
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I know and I have done that, but they also claim that you can adjust the base afterwards by loosening the nut and retightening.

Matt
 
  #9  
Old 06-24-04, 11:53 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
Matt,

How about a 12 pt box end wrench?

<img src="http://www.wihatools.com/images/Heyco/475BoxPix350.jpg">
Image credit: wihattools.com
 
  #10  
Old 06-24-04, 08:08 PM
moosejaw
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hey GregH!

I thougt of that, but the space between the top of the ecrew and the bottom of the wood post is approximately 1/8". No room! Argh! I am just about ready to rip these things out.

Thanks!

Matt
 
  #11  
Old 06-24-04, 08:19 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
Matt,

It is likely that Strongtie is exaggerating the adjustability of their product.

You could try putting a block against the side and giving it a rap with a heavy hammer.
I'm sure it will move.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'