Craftsman beltsander

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-29-04, 09:33 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
Craftsman beltsander

I was given a Craftsman 4x36 inch belt sander with the 6 inch sanding disk on the side. Works great but the belt finally gave out and I have no idea how to release the assemblyto change belts. I know it releases to be able to use it vertically. Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-29-04, 09:34 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
majakdragon,

Are you referring to the sanding belt?

I have one that is not Craftsman. It has a lever between the two sides of the belt that swings out to relieve the tension.

What is the model of your sander?
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-04, 08:36 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
I found the culprit bolt to loosen the belt tower. It is on the drive belt cover. I thought this was just for securing the cover to the base but if you loosen the allenbolt you can raise the 36'' belt assembly from flat to vertical position. When flat, you cannot change the belt as the 6'' disk is in the way.Thanks for answering my post
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'