Why wont my Chainsaw cut strait?

Closed Thread

Old 11-30-04, 05:19 AM
joefrompocono
Visiting Guest
Exclamation Why wont my Chainsaw cut strait?

I work as a cartaker at a campgound and over the past year I cut some 30+ cords of fire wood to sell to campers. For some reason all my chainsaws cut a cresent shape hooking to the left after two or three days of use.

It does not seem to matter if I sharpen by hand with a round file or take the chain in to a professional.

Starting with a new bar brings the same result. I have been grinding my bars back to flat and this solves the problem for the usual two or three days but it is very time consuming.

I used to run a chain saw on a forest fire crew out west and if I remember right we did all our own sharpening for weeks at a time without this problem

Is this normal? or am I doing something wrong when cutting, or sharpening?

Thanks for your time and your help.

Old 11-30-04, 09:53 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"For some reason all my chainsaws cut a cresent shape"
Are you saying that this happens with more than one saw? Also, what is the grinding that you are doing to the bar?

Old 11-30-04, 03:27 PM
Super Moderator
Received 47 Votes on 45 Posts
I'm not a chainsaw pro but any time my saw cuts lopsided, is because the angles of the teeth or rakers are not consistant.

Old 12-01-04, 07:50 AM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: Joe

Surface the bar and install a new (never used prior) chain. Problem should be solved. Reason why. The bottoms of the links that ride on the bar rail are worn unevenly. Thus, the chain runs at an angle even though the bar rail is surfaced level and correctly.

Web Site Host & Forums Monitor.

Personal Reminder:
Buckle Up & Drive Safely.
"The Life You Save, May Be Your Own."

Old 12-01-04, 03:43 PM
joefrompocono
Visiting Guest
Thanks for the input so far.