hand tools

Old 12-19-04, 09:17 AM
gary_burtles85
Visiting Guest
Post hand tools

I am new to DIY and often donít feel comfortable using power tools, they are little cumbersome and some times quite frightening. I much prefer hand tools for the extra control I have and enhanced sense of achievement I get from doing a project by hand. Does anyone agree?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-19-04, 10:23 AM
Super Moderator
Welcome Gary

It's all about knowledge and learning.
The use of a hammer and chisel can can be intimidating to some.

Do you have a specific question on the safe use of power tools maybe?
They can be quite productive if used properly and safely.

Old 12-19-04, 08:03 PM
It's a matter of time and quality

What are your expectations as to the quality of the result?
Is time ever a factor in reaching completion?

Some non-powered tools, such as planes, drawknives and larger manual equipment such as axes, adzes and the like bring considerable complexity to the project. In addition to requiring more time, there are learning curves attached to use these tools safely and properly to achieve the desired result.

A friend today wished that he had borrowed my pneumatic roofing nailer (or rented one) to complete his re-roofing job in about 1 day rather than taking 4 days to hand-nail it.

As a DIY, there are projects such as furniture which can take just as much time as you want to give. There are others, such as leaky roof, clogged drains, malfunctioning heaters and A/C systems that cannot wait for the DIY to get the tool, learn how to use it and get the job completed.

There are times to choose NOT to DIY and call a professional to get vital home systems working again.

Old 08-29-05, 09:32 PM
Well I dont think I could survive without my impact gun. Its 650Ftlbs of torque and its a monster, but as long as your safe with them, its fine.

jim

Old 08-30-05, 09:35 AM
countrymac
Visiting Guest