Hitachi EC 12 Air Compressor


  #1  
Old 05-31-05, 02:22 PM
baldeagle51
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hitachi EC 12 Air Compressor

I have a Hitachi EC 12 air compressor and the compressor will fill the tanks just fine and guage A which shows the air pressure in the 2 tanks shows the correct pressure. Guage B is suppost to show the usable pressure but when i plug in my air hose, the guage B will drop to 0 and i have no pressure at all and i am unable to use the compressor. when i unplug the hose Guage B will return to the correct pressure. I was wondering if somone could tell me if the pressure reducer is out or maby it is something else. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks

Mike
 
  #2  
Old 05-31-05, 04:42 PM
IBM5081's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 655
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a Hitachi EC12 that works just fine.

Try this -
- Plug in the compressor and let it run until it shuts off. This means that the tanks are fully pressurized.
- I assume that your air hose has a female quick-disconnect fitting on the far end (it won't let air out until an air tool is plugged into it)
- Plug the male end of the air hose into the compressor
- Pull out the pressure adjustment knob on the compressor until it clicks
- Rotate the knob slowly clockwise. Guage B should gradually show an increase in pressure up to the pressure shown on guage A.
- When the pressure on guage B is correct, push in the adjustment knob to lock in the setting.

Has this compressor ever worked for you?
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-05, 05:39 PM
baldeagle51
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I did what you said and both gauges increased at the same time to the same point. I then hooked the air hose into the compressor and instantly, gauge B went to 0. I then adjusted the pressure adjustment knob clockwise untill it would not turn anymore. Slowley, gauge B increased to the point that gauge A was sitting at but the miute i tried to use my air nailer, Gauge B went back down to 0 again. If i took the hose out of the compressor, gauge B would instantly increase to match the pressure reading on gauge A. That is annoying
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-05, 05:40 PM
baldeagle51
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
One side note, this compressor was working 3 days earlier.
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-05, 07:36 PM
IBM5081's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 655
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I suspect two causes, one cheap and once less cheap.
Cheap: Maybe the male fitting on the hose is causing the valve in the pressure switch to malfunction.
Not so cheap: Some foreign object is stuck in the pressure switch, causing it to malfunction.

Rotating the adjusting knob should cause the pressure to rise fairly quickly. If it did not, that may be the issue.

Must be time for a trip to the repair shop.
 
  #6  
Old 05-31-05, 08:15 PM
baldeagle51
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you for all your help!!!!! I appreciate it.
 
  #7  
Old 09-01-08, 09:47 AM
K
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kula, Maui
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
EC12 Hitachi problem as well

Hi, problem with my EC12 is that it won't restart after the pressure drops. It tries but struggles and then just quits. TIA for any help.....
 
  #8  
Old 09-01-08, 05:43 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Kahawaii, are you using an extension cord? If so, don't. You may be experiencing a severe voltage drop. Plug it into a receptacle directly and see what happens.
 
  #9  
Old 09-01-08, 09:24 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kula, Maui
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yer right!!

Originally Posted by chandler View Post
Kahawaii, are you using an extension cord? If so, don't. You may be experiencing a severe voltage drop. Plug it into a receptacle directly and see what happens.
Well, I'll be.....you're right, Chandler, thanks for the tip. I plugged it directly to an outlet and it starts up after just a slight hesitation which is probably normal. I'll know when I use it tomorrow.....aloha,
kahawaii
 
  #10  
Old 09-02-08, 06:48 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 748
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by baldeagle51 View Post
One side note, this compressor was working 3 days earlier.
Can you bypass the regulator somehow and just draw from the tank? I suspect that reg is shot.
 
  #11  
Old 10-12-08, 05:45 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Outside Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Similar issue

I've the EC12 and just started having issue with air out. Pressure drops on gauge and have to bleed air for the compressor to start up again. When it does fire up, compressor stops, but air bleeds from regulator (then stops). Pressure in tank(s) is 110PSI, and regulator dial shows 110PSI (where I set it). Fire about 4-5 nails and then the pressure drops (comes up really slow). Pulling air release will trigger compressor.
Friend suggested the regulator switch (pressure switch) and I found part online for $90.
I tried the suggestion about electrical and did find an issue that the outlet in the room was switched (more problems!) and the one below it as well! I moved the compressor to another room outlet, and it ran better, but still after a dropping to 80 PSI it then runs, then bleeds off. This never happened before (after 5+ years use).
So, I'll get a new pressure switch (looks like a PITA as gauges and much more need removal to replace that part) or find a deal on another compressor.
Here's a link to one source that sells it, but it also has the PDF exploded view of other parts of the EC12:
http://www.toolpartsdirect.com/cgi-b.../hitachi/EC12/
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: