I broke my beloved Craftsman circ saw- help!

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-24-05, 05:32 PM
tcollopy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I broke my beloved Craftsman circ saw- help!

For over 25 years, this workhorse has served me well. Today I was using it with a masonry blade to cut brick & it just stopped after about 3 mins (after I evidently had too many brick being cut at once). Line is still live (didn't blow the fuse), I can't see a reset button, & it didn't reset itself after cooling down). Any ideas of what I may have broken & what needs to be repaired?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-24-05, 05:45 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,240
Is it worm drive?
 
  #3  
Old 07-24-05, 09:48 PM
IBM5081's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 655
Brushes get my vote. Other things can be checked while it's disassembled. I assume that the motor makes no response to the trigger being pulled.
 
  #4  
Old 07-25-05, 05:53 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,693
My Craftsman saw which I puirchased in 1976 crapped out a year or so ago.
The cord was worn through where the clamp inside the handle grips the cable.

Replaced the whole cord with an 8' piece of 16-2 sjtw wire (double insulated) and it works like new.
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-05, 05:45 PM
tcollopy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GregH is the MAN!

sure enough when i took it apart i found the cord was worn & separated. 10 minutes later it was working like new. thanks for the advice. you saved me the cost of a new saw.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'