Circular Saw Problem

Old 09-12-05, 07:39 PM
Circular Saw Problem

Hi,
I bought a B&D circular saw (corded) model CS1010K (if needed). I've never used one before but have pretty good home diy experience with most other tools.

The problem I have is that when I try to cut say, an 8x4 sheet of plywood with it (1/2"), the saw cant seem to cut it and the blade just stops until I release it from the wood.

Do you think the saw doesn't have enough power? I would have thought this is just a standard sort of cut?

James

Sponsored Links
Old 09-12-05, 08:07 PM
Group Moderator
Check to see if you have the blade tight and the washer properly positioned. I don't think those have a diamond arbor, but you could check that too.

Old 09-13-05, 05:46 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Also make sure the blade isn't in backwards

Old 09-13-05, 07:27 PM
Thanks.

The blade is how it was when I bought the saw but I'll try it the other way. Do you think the saw should be able to cut through 1/2" ply easily? I had to go back to using the hand saw for the job at the w/end, all 8ft of it!

I saw another post that discussed not using an extension cord, could this be the issue? I was using an extension.

Old 09-13-05, 09:16 PM
is the plywood propery supported?

sounds to me like the blade is binding in the cut .

you need to suport the sheet so it dosnt bind

Old 09-14-05, 06:12 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
If the blade was factory installed it should be correct. It is easy to check. The sharp edge of the teeth hit the wood first. It is ok to use extension cords as long as they are heavy enough. The longer the cord the heavier it needs to be. Don't use a cord that is smaller than 16 gauge. A circular saw should be able to slice through 1/2" plywood easily.

Old 09-14-05, 07:56 PM
That's a 13 amp saw. It must be binding or a lose blade more likely. I would take the blade off and reinstall it myself.It could also be a defective saw with damaged gears.