Another compressor question

Old 09-29-05, 03:57 PM
Z
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Another compressor question

Newbie here. Looking at puchasing a compressor initially for use with my nailers. But now I'm thinking I should purchase one that will run automotive tools also. I've been looking at a Craftsman oil lubricated 25gal compressor that's rated at 8.6 SCFM@40psi and 6.8 SCFM@90psi. Price is $369.

Question...is Craftsman safe to go with and is this a decent price? Any other recommendations?

Thanks in advance

Old 09-29-05, 04:07 PM
Specifically WHICH automotive tools do you intend to use? There are some for which this one is inadequate.

Compressors for automotive use are typically stationary and use 220 volt power. Compressors for nailers, bradders and staplers are typically portable unless used in a dedicated wood shop. They are also 110 volt. Are you sure that you don't need TWO compressors?

Old 09-29-05, 04:56 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
I used a 1hp 11gal sears compressor for many years [although I did reset the regulator] It handled most of what I threw at [struggling at times] It would only power a DA for short periods and would kind of keep up with an air file [at reduced pressure]. A friend of mine has a 2 hp 20 gal cambell hausfield which he has used for paint and body work [as a hobby] for 20 yrs. He is well satisfied with it.

A moveable 110 volt comp will never be anything like a staionary 60-80 gal 220 compressor but if you can accept the cfm limations you can do a lot with them.

Old 09-29-05, 05:32 PM
Z
IBM5081...you have a good point there. I wouldn't mind having two compressors

Old 10-03-05, 09:27 AM
Z
Any comments on the Sanborn compressor? This one is a belt driven, oil lubricated unit with a 20 gal tank.

Old 10-03-05, 11:02 AM