Corded Drill

Old 12-15-05, 04:48 PM
dryflyangler
Visiting Guest
Corded Drill

Hi All,

Looking to buy my first "good" drill. I have a cheapie 12v 3/8" cordless Firestorm drill that I got as a gift several years ago. It is still kicking but lacks the power if you want to do more than drill some small holes and put in screws around the house. I think I have decided on a corded drill as they are cheaper and I really don't mind having a cord around as I am not a pro who is using it all day. Have recently needed to use 1/2" drill bits and needed to borrow. Got me to thinking that I should get a 1/2" drill instead of a 3/8" drill. I know it will be heavier and bulkier but seems like I could cover lots of ground with it. Small bits, big bits, etc as I get into more projects. Does this sound like good reasoning? I want to buy something that I will have for a long time. Have read some really good reviews on the Milwaukee 0234-6 1/2" drill. Seems like it would do the trick but am I missing something?

Thanks for all replies as usual!

DryFly

Old 12-15-05, 05:41 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have that corded drill and it does a fine job. It is not that much heavier than a good 3/8" drill, so weight is not a huge issue. However, it is meant for serious drilling and you are not likely to do serious drilling as much as you think you will. The difference is that it only runs 850 rpm while a good 6 amp 3/8" drill will run 2500 rpm and still has plenty of power. Most of the bits that you will use come with a shank that will fit the 3/8 as well as the 1/2.
As far as price is concerned, that 1/2" drill will typically be about twice the price of the 3/8" new retail. Most of the difference is in the gearing. If you like the brand, consider the 3/8" version of the same drill. It's just as durable and will meet your needs better. If the 3/8" won't handle it, go rent the Hole Hawg for a day to drill 4-5/8" holes in wood at 300 rpm.

Old 12-15-05, 05:51 PM
dryflyangler
Visiting Guest