Tools and brands I should look for

Old 01-12-06, 06:28 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tools and brands I should look for

I'm a housing newbie and I'm preparing to own my first house in a few weeks.

I have no power tools right now, only a decent set of hand tools.

The house I'm buying will need work so I'm ready to buy a good set of power tools (corded prefered) for any projects I'm going to do. I know the basic set will probably be an orbital sander (I have my eye on a Dewalt DW443) and a hammer-drill.

Can anyone recommend to me medium to high end brands I should look for and what tools I'll need? I want to install baseboards so I understand I'll need a miter saw. But do I want a 10-12" miter or a full table saw that can make miter cuts? I plan on doing a deck next year so should I go for a large table saw to handle that sort of work? Would I be better off buying a good circular saw instead to handle all of those jobs with a single tool?

I also plan on fixing walls and ceilings. Again, should I look for a jig saw for that sort of job? Maybe a small circular saw? Or a reciprocating saw?

Any advice?

Old 01-12-06, 07:09 AM
Before you buy any tool, pick it up and see how it feels in your hand. There are many brands of each type of tool but if it is uncomfortable to use, you will be unhappy with it.
Baseboards: I believe a miter saw gives you more control and exacting cuts. Most non-contractors can get everything they want from a 10".
Decks: I found my circular saw to do the all-around work quite well. You will need a couple/few sawhorses to support your work while cutting.
Walls and ceilings: A jigsaw is great for those small or curved cuts. A reciprocating saw for demolition with different type/length blades including metal cutting for nails. If you will be putting up paneling, a tablesaw is nice or you can use a circular saw with a good straightedge.