Clamps for Wood - Recommendations?

Old 02-11-06, 03:22 PM
P
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Clamps for Wood - Recommendations?

I bought a new miter saw and table (the Dewalt 708) and now that I have the ability to cut a straight line, I plan to do some odds and ends this spring and summer with wood. I'll need clamps, but don't know what kind. I'm brand new at working with wood, and will not be building fancy cabinets or other projects of that caliber.

I'm thinking bar clamps vs. pipe clamps. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Why would somebody pay $30 for a pair of 12-inch QuikGrip bar clamps instead of some pipe clamp jaws and some iron pipe (can make his own lengths)? Also, what would be a good start-out quantity and type?

Last edited by Pipsisiwah; 02-11-06 at 03:42 PM.
Old 02-11-06, 03:51 PM
W
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I use Irwin bar clamps, pistol grip tightening. They work great in lots of situations and weren't expensive. You can get them at any hardware or box store I would think. I have 3, about 20" long.

Old 02-11-06, 04:27 PM
S
Me too, a bunch, li'l bitty ones to 36"
Not the best quality available I'm sure but work pretty good
Never had a complaint
Very convenient to use

Old 02-11-06, 07:24 PM
Some of the cheaper pipe clamps do not hold well. I got 3 sets as a "present" and I had to really file on the pipe to get them to hold. Sometimes they still slip. I bought a few Bessey bar clamps in assorted sizes and am really happy with them. Not cheapest but worth the lower amount I paid for them. You just can't beat having enough clamps when woodworking. Even some of my small jobs use up 6 or 8 clamps. Good luck.

Old 02-12-06, 05:58 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts