changing hacksaw blade


  #1  
Old 06-10-06, 07:54 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question changing hacksaw blade

Okay, I know this is probably a stupid question....
My husband had "opened" the hacksaw to change the blade, then got called away and didn't complete it. He had to leave town and now I am on my own for a few weeks.
So, I need the hacksaw for some projects and I can't seem to figure it out. I have got the new blade in place but it won't stay and the top part (opposite the blade) keeps coming apart as well. Is there a piece I am missing? I have looked around and didn't see any more to it.

Any help?

Thanks,
Becki
 
  #2  
Old 06-10-06, 10:13 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 48,155
Received 405 Votes on 361 Posts
There are 2 types of hacksaws. On both the blade hooks the same. The most common type has a threaded adjustment on the hook nearest the handle - just turn until tight. The other kind has an adjustment on the top tube which basically does the same thing.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-06, 01:04 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Becki: another thing to check is the hacksaw may use two different size blades, 10" and 12". The top rail slides and locks at one of two detents, depending on which size blade you use. Make sure the top rail is secured, install the blade on the two small hook like features and tighten up the take-up screw.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: