Air Nailer combo's

Old 08-25-06, 09:23 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air Nailer combo's

Has anybody seen any good buys lately on an Air Nailer combo kit. Looking preferably for a compressor, Framing Nailer, and Finish Nailer. Brad Nailer would be nice but not necissary. I was reading the Fine Woodworking & Fine Homebuilding tool review 2006 (yes i know it's old) and they said that craftsman was bringing out a combo this year with all 3 nailers, 25' of hose and a twin tank compressor for $350. For that price there's absolutely no way i would pass it up. I'm pretty new to alot of this (i'm 20 and just doing my first DIY project on my rental home) but i'm eager to learn and planning on going back to school next fall either for general construction or maybe finish carpentry and would like to get more tools to help me down the road and now with my small projects.

Old 08-25-06, 01:56 PM
You're going for a combo to save money, right? Well, there's more than one way to get what you need at a price you can afford while still obtaining name-brand stuff.

Nailers, staplers, bradders - consider used, refurbished or eBay.
Air compressor - about $240 new. You can pay less but it will take longer to recover air pressure.

Locate where the framing contractors and finish carpenters buy their equipment. Gotta be able to get parts and nails for whatever you get. You will need more than 25' of hose and it can be 1/4" size. I typically use 50-100' of hose so that the noisy compressor can be near the electrical outlet and away from the work area.

Old 08-25-06, 02:11 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Have you priced framing nailers on their own? They cost enough that I'm a little skeptical about a kit with one and a compressor for $350. Keep in mind that if it's only for nails, you don't need much compressor.

Old 08-25-06, 07:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts