Air Tool Oiling

Old 09-28-07, 09:29 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air Tool Oiling

Hi, I've never used air tools before, but I just got a 3/8 ratchet and a 1/2 impact wrench. My question is: how should I oil them? I will only be using them for small, infrequent jobs, e.g. removing and installing car wheels to rotate them twice a year, and other infrequent, small jobs. Do I just squirt some oil in the airhose connecctor before each use? Should I do that before each wheel? If there is a spefific oil port, it's not obvious. There is one small thing with what appears to be a spring loaded seal about the size of a paperclip. Is that an oil hole that requires a special filler tool? Should I use airtool oil only, or can I use regular non-detergent small engine oil? Any help or suggestions you can provide would be appreciated.

Old 09-28-07, 10:25 AM
Super Moderator
Received 52 Votes on 48 Posts
Someone who uses air tools for extended periods would normally oil them daily.
I would say that a few drops when you first get the tools and then one drop with each infrequent use.

You would put the oil in the air connection of the tool.

The hole you are referring to might be for the mechanical parts of the tool as opposed to the air motor.

If you got a parts list with the tool it should show what this extra opening leads to.

Old 09-28-07, 10:39 AM
S
Thanks GregH. I'm glad you clarified how little to use, I would have loaded it up.

Now, what oil should I use? Do I need special airtool oil, or is regular small engine oil OK?

The tools came with a craftsman compressor I bought, but neither tool had any manual or partslist with it. And I definitely didn't trust the salesman. He said too many things that I knew were bogus. Sure seems like Sears is going downhill.

Old 09-28-07, 01:03 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts