Relatively New Air Compressor Not Working

Old 04-05-08, 10:27 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Relatively New Air Compressor Not Working

Hello,

I am completely new to air tools. I am setting up a wood shop, to do carpentry, hopefully retire to build furniture. I want to use an air nailer.

So, when I noticed Sears having a decent sale on an air compressor I went ahead and purchased it, figuring it would last the rest of my life.

I got a 125 psi, 12 gallon, upright on wheels compressor. I bought a nail gun and have used it several times. Everything worked perfectly, no troubles at all.

I have this out in my garage. I apparently left it plugged in all winter. I live in New England and it gets below freezing here.

Now this Spring it is not working. It had held air for most of the winter. I inflated a basketball with it last month, which is when I realized it is not running.

Any ideas why it would just stop working? There is no on/off switch, or reset that I could find.

I can't find the manual either, but I'm sure it's around and will turn up in my search.

Thought I'd mention this episode here as the wealth of experience you guys have can probably help.

Thanks in advance.

--Robert Kelsey

Old 04-05-08, 10:42 AM
Super Moderator
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Robert,
I don't think I've ever seen a comp w/o at least a reset switch on the motor somewhere. If it was really cold, and the comp tried to start, it could have tripped the overload. Keep looking for that manual...

BTW, this isn't by chance on a circuit with a separate breaker is it? Anything else not working? What about the outlet, does it have power?

Old 04-05-08, 10:54 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
About the only thing frezzing temps will hurt is the moisture that collects in the tank - but it usually settles to the bottom. It's always a good idea to bleed off the water on a regular basis.