Craftsman air compressor not reaching pressure


  #1  
Old 04-07-08, 09:22 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Craftsman air compressor not reaching pressure

Just bought a Craftsman 3.5 HP 25 gallon (model no 919.155732) used from someone. It is an oiless, direct drive type thing.

It's supposed to reach 125 PSI and it only reaches about 55 or 60 PSI. From what I have been reading, it is most likely the O-rings in the compressor. How many O-rings are there? I found one that is around the metal pipe that connects the compressor with the tank as it enters the compressor. There is a large thin ring around the top part of the compressor around the flap valve (is that what it's called?) which seals the round cylindrical chamber that i guess makes up the walls of the piston.

Then there is a flat round metal plate that goes up and down (the piston itself?) which has a thin metal rim around it. Is there supposed to be another O-ring in there? There is a little gap between the round plate and the metal rim that looks about as wide as an O-ring might be.

Anyways, does anyone know how to find the part numbers? I was thinking of ordering from devilbiss rather than going to Sears, but I can't figure out what the part numbers are because there aren't any pictures/diagrams that I can find.
 
  #2  
Old 04-08-08, 01:38 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a similar unit--15 gal tank.
This thing is so loud the neighbors complain when I turn it on.
Your pressure switch may be turning unit off too early??
I'm waiting for mine to break down so I get a 220V oil unit & have some quiet..............
Some parts are available at Sears.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-08, 03:58 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 48,072
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Does it shut off when it reaches 60 psi? or does it keep running with air leaking?
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-08, 08:39 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, went to the Sears store to look at the parts to see what they are supposed to look like. After I saw how tightly the piston is supposed to fit inside the sleeve, I realized both completely worn out.

Bought they kit to replace those parts and now it works like a charm.
 
  #5  
Old 05-15-08, 06:23 PM
T
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mudphud View Post
Well, went to the Sears store to look at the parts to see what they are supposed to look like. After I saw how tightly the piston is supposed to fit inside the sleeve, I realized both completely worn out.

Bought they kit to replace those parts and now it works like a charm.

I have the same problem with the same compressor. After reading the previous post, I replaced the piston/rod/ring assembly, now the compressor will charge up to 60 lbs, but not higher, and it just keeps running, and there is not any air leaking.
 
  #6  
Old 05-16-08, 05:31 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tighten the water drain on bottom of unit w/ a pair of pliers.
See if it make any fifference.....................
 
  #7  
Old 05-27-08, 07:48 PM
T
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The drain is tight, and all of the connections are tight, there isn't any air leaking. My next step is to replace the regulator.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: