what kind of saw do I need

Old 07-12-08, 01:03 PM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question what kind of saw do I need

I am totally new at any of this do-it-yourself stuff. I want to buy some type of easy to use, light weight power saw that would just cut a board. I've used a hand saws in the past but they are just too slow and require more strength than I have. Thanks for any help you can offer! (BTW...I'd hope I could find one for under $50 if possible.)

Old 07-12-08, 01:29 PM
C
Received 25 Upvotes on 22 Posts
Welcome to the DIY forums

Kinda sounds like you're talking about a circular saw. They are light and easy to use, but as with any new equipment they'll take some getting used to. For instance, if you're cutting to an exact measurement you'll need to consider the width of the blade, and cut accordingly.

Some tips: use eye and ear protection, and be careful of that blade!

For light duty home owner use, a Ryobi saw will do you well, if you need a brand to look They're on sale sometimes at the Home Deep. You can also cruise through CraigsList.org for your town- our Craigs List shows 27 circular saws starting at $15 but you have to know your brands and consider condition of used equipment.

Good luck with it! What kind of project are you working on?

Old 07-12-08, 01:56 PM
F
Thanks for responding, CycleZen!

I am doing several things around here, but I want the saw to cut a portion out of the first shelf in a closet (above the clothes rod) in order to put a tall bookcase in there. (I turned an extra bedroom into an office and want hidden storage in the closet.)

There is a bracket holding the shelf about 2/3 the length of the board. I only need to remove that last 1/3 to get the bookcase in. So I was hoping to just cut out the part I want removed.

If needed, I could put another bracket under the part that I'm leaving. However, nothing heavy will be on that first 2/3 of the shelf.