Emglo AM78 HC4V won't run for more than about 5 sec's

Old 09-25-08, 09:55 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Emglo AM78 HC4V won't run for more than about 5 sec's

Hi, I purchased a used Emglo model AM78 HC4V a couple of days ago. This is my first time w/ an a/c, when I tried it worked fine the 1st time ran up to about 120 psi shut off held air when down to approx. 90 psi cycled back up, Great so i got some tools engine cleaner, 15-50W synthetic oil next day. sprayed cleaner on it, came back hosed off cleaner, ran comp and used new air gun to blow dry(thinking this is going to be cool) started filling up so low car tires then the unit shut down. I used restart and it started for a couple of sec's tried several times seemed to last a few more sec' Took into garage and plugged directly into remembered not supposed to use long extension cords so unplugged (noticed rubber plug housing very hot) ran loner 10sec's and quiter. i disconnected after cooler line from head air coming out but same result. After sitting overnight it run about 15 sec's before shutting off. put air in tank but less than 20psi.

Old 09-25-08, 03:20 PM
F
is it tripping the onboard breaker or shutting off at the pressure switch ?

Old 09-25-08, 05:49 PM
Group Moderator
Received 900 Votes on 826 Posts
I have the same model, and in addition to help from the friends here, I found this troubleshooting information helpful when I needed to work on mine.

Old 09-25-08, 08:37 PM
B
Originally Posted by flopshot View Post
is it tripping the onboard breaker or shutting off at the pressure switch ?
Flopshot, it is tripping the onboard breaker. even w/ the pump disconnected at the cylinder head.

Old 09-25-08, 09:50 PM
B
Originally Posted by XSleeper View Post
I have the same model, and in addition to help from the friends here, I found this troubleshooting information helpful when I needed to work on mine.
Thanks for the info. I'm sure I'll be reviewing it many times.

Old 09-25-08, 10:58 PM
B
Cool