air impact wrench question

Old 11-30-09, 12:36 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
air impact wrench question

Hello, I'm new. Got some good info from this forum. Got a quick question. I live on a farm, plus i'm a registered nurse. have a bunch of farm machinery at home. I purchased a VT6271 air compressor for the garage. Reason why I purchased it: it's mobile and borderline between professional and at home air compressor. Basically, I'm going use it to remove nuts off of machinery and maybe an occasional paint spraying job around the house. no auto work.

Specs on the Vt6271 are:
3 Running HP, 26 Gallon Cast Iron Compressor powers a variety of air tools for the serious do-it-yourselfer, professional, or contractor. Product life up to 5,000 hours. Durable and safe ASME code tank for greater storage.
CFM @40 PSI = 11.5
CFM @90 PSI = 10.2
Max Pressure = 135
Pump type cast iron

I know it's not the most fanciest air compressor out there. I was thinking about getting a 3/4 in impact wrench. Was thinking the Chicago Pneumatic Air Impact Wrench — 3/4in. Drive, Model# CP772H. Specs are

Drive (in.) 3/4
Average Air Consumption (CFM)6
CFM at Load 24
Speed - No Load (RPM) 4200
Blows Per Minute (BPM) 900
Max. Torque (ft.-lbs.) 1000
Working Torque (ft.-lb.) 100-700
Inlet Size (in.) 3/8
Min. Hose Size (in.)1/2
Hammer Mechanism dynapact clutch
Standard Bolt Capacity (in.) 1
Variable Speed yes

Will this wrench work on this compressor? CFM at load confuses me. Will this compressor be sufficient enough to support this impact wrench? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Red

Old 11-30-09, 12:52 PM
M
CFM at load is average CFM times 4 or the volume of air that the tool will consume in one minute to perform at full capacity. Since an impact is very intermittent by nature, you should be fine. If the compressor runs longer than 10 minutes without shutting off, just let go of the trigger and let the machine catch up and cool down a bit.

Old 11-30-09, 02:56 PM