Pancake compressor or trim compressor for newbie

Old 01-13-10, 03:47 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Pancake compressor or trim compressor for newbie

I'm looking to buy a small air compressor and nail gun to do trim work around the house(baseboard, baseshoe, and door trim) . I'm not a PRO. I don't need anything too fancy. .

I found a factory reconditioned Bostitch combo kit at Amazon for $190. This sounds like a good deal to me. This kit comes with a 18-ga 2" brad nailer, a 18-ga 1.5" finish stapler, a 16-ga 2.5" finish nailer and a 40-foot hose. It comes with the CAP2000P compressor which is 6-gallon oil-free pancake type with 2.9 CFM at 90 PSI and 150 PSI max.

My second option is the Bostitch TrimAir CAP1516 compressor. I found a brand new one at Amazon for $80 shipped. This compressor has a 1.6 gallon tank and offers 1.8 CFM at 90 PSI and 125 PSI max. This thing is light. It weights only 19 pounds. I also found a factory reconditioned Bostitch BT200K 18-ga 2" brad nailer for $30 at Amazon.

A third option is to get the porter-cable combo kit (compressor + 3 guns) from HD for ~$300. Which is pretty much the same as the Bostitch combo kit.

I thought the trim compressor is supposed to be quieter than the pancake type compressor. However, Bostitch rates the TrimAir at 75dB while the CAP2000P at 72 dB. Does it sounds right to you?

I don't think I will ever need the finish stapler but I'm not sure if I will need the 16-ga finish nailer for the baseboard.

Which set do you think I should buy? Thanks!

Old 01-13-10, 04:19 PM
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have been in this business for just over 45 years. So I am giving you my own personal opinion based on experience. You can take my advice or not, its your choice.