Electric chainsaw sharpener question

Old 03-13-10, 02:44 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Electric chainsaw sharpener question

Just bought a Northern model # 193020 (Oregon 511a knockoff) chainsaw chain sharpener and am trying to get it setup. The instructions are almost worthless. I am trying to figure out how to determine the correct grinding wheel and how to properly dress the grinding wheel.
My chainsaw is a Stihl 024AV w/16 bar and am running a 3/8 pitch Stihl 33RSC3 60 chain.
My sharpener came with 3 wheels (1/8, 3/16, and 1/4). It says I must dress the wheel to fit in a u shaped guide, but I didnt want to shape the wrong wheel and there is no guide for the 1/8 wheel.
For a 3/8 pitch chain what wheel should I use?
Also I dont understand the tilt angle. My chain says 10 degrees.
Im pretty new to this sharpening thing (and this is my first post to this forum) so I may have rambled on too long.
Please help. I was looking for a video on the net to show how to dress the wheel but couldnt find anything.
Thanks, John

Old 03-14-10, 02:50 PM
W
Received 65 Upvotes on 56 Posts
Chain Sharpening

According to the Stihl manual, a 3/8" pitch chain requires a 5/32" file. I think you need a 5/32" wheel. Did you get a file with the saw? Is it a 5/32" file?

Old 03-15-10, 06:19 AM
M
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
I used one of the knock offs from Harbor Freight and ended up ruining the chain. If yours is made in China it's probably made by the same company. I gave up and took it back.

Old 03-15-10, 09:37 PM
J
Didn't receive a file, but I did get a shaping stone to dress the wheel. I just don't know exactly how to dress it. I am experimenting with a new Stihl chain to set the angles and depth, etc.
I did get a gauge that measures file diameter, depth, pitch, and so on. Gotta learn to use that also.
From what I can gather so far, I need to use the 1/8" wheel on a 3/8" pitch chain.