Tool advice

Old 09-18-10, 09:50 PM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Tool advice

I am getting ready to do some remodeling in my house. and one of the project calls for about 15 new outlet boxes to be installed. I am not very good with a cut out drill it seem to just get away from me. I was wondering if one of those multi-tools is worth it or not. They are suppose to do all kinds of cutting, sanding, and scraping task. But I hear the blades are kind of high price, which I may need a lot of, do to my wall. They are made of plaster, which looks like it is applied over some kind of cement board.

Old 09-19-10, 04:07 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I use a Fein Multimaster. It was terribly expensive (SIL bought it for me), but the blades are even more out of line unless you can find them on auction sites. It is the best tool I have used in a very long time. Its versatility is unmatched, and would do well in your situation. Now, you don't have to spend $400 for a multitool. I believe Craftsman is advertising one....Dremel makes one, as well as others. Shop around and look not only at the initial cost, but the cost of the blades.

Old 09-19-10, 04:24 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Several similar tools out even harbor freight has one, I'm building kitchen cabinets and have found out more than once you get what you pay for. For one to 2 small jobs cheap works but not in bulk.

Old 09-19-10, 06:30 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,946 Upvotes on 1,746 Posts
That's not a job I would use my Multimaster for. Instead, get urself a jigsaw blade for plaster, like the Bosch T141HM1. It's expensive, but will last longer than any other blade. Mark out your outlets and drill a hole on all 4 corners with a 1/4" hammer drill bit... then just saw from hole to hole.

Old 09-19-10, 12:39 PM
W
Received 65 Upvotes on 56 Posts
Holes

A jig saw is the way to go.

Old 09-19-10, 01:37 PM
E
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts