Air compressor hose size question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-11, 08:31 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air compressor hose size question

Hi all, this is my first post. Your forum seems to have the biggest list of air compressor threads, so I hope this is the right place for my question.

I have a little Huskey air compressor that I use a 1/4 hose and fittings on. Today I picked up a 60 gallon compressor with a 1/2 fitting on it.
Can I just pick up a 1/2 to 1/4 brass conversion part at my local hardware store, or do I need to use a larger hose? What would be the pro's and con's?

The reason I ask is that I don't want to re=purchase all the fitting, hoses, etc... if I don't have to.

Thanks for any advice!

cleveland
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-11, 09:06 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cleveland View Post
Hi all, this is my first post. Your forum seems to have the biggest list of air compressor threads, so I hope this is the right place for my question.

I have a little Huskey air compressor that I use a 1/4 hose and fittings on. Today I picked up a 60 gallon compressor with a 1/2 fitting on it.
Can I just pick up a 1/2 to 1/4 brass conversion part at my local hardware store, or do I need to use a larger hose? What would be the pro's and con's?

The reason I ask is that I don't want to re=purchase all the fitting, hoses, etc... if I don't have to.

Thanks for any advice!

cleveland
The size of your tank does not make any difference When you go to a larger compressor
you have to look at the air tools you will be using at the end of that hose. You get pressure drops through the hose. So if your tool needs 10 CFM of air to run it and your compressor can produce 10 cfm then you need a hose that can move that amount. I run my compressor from ,on at 95 LBS, off at 140 LBS, I have a regulator on one line for my air tools set at 90 lbs because that what most of my air tool are supposed to have. By using all 3/8 hose i can maintain the 90 lbs at the end of a 50' hose. Also filters and dryers have to be large enough to move that cfm of air. I think most guys with larger compressors would not use any 1/4" fitting or hose. Later Paul
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-11, 05:37 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Depends on what you are doing at the business end of the hose. Painting, air wrenching, yeah a larger hose with more volume would work better. Nailing, I use nothing but braided 100' x 1/4" hose. Pressure will always be there. Volume is the difference. Once the nail gun hits, the pressure is right back there waiting. You don't need to adapt the hose. Use quick disconnects on the compressor. Yeah, you'll have to buy a larger threaded end, but the adapter is the same for the 1/4" as it is for 3/8", etc.
Word of caution, leave your compressor plugged directly into a receptacle. Use no extension cords. Add hose if it won't reach. Pressure is the same at 10' as it is a 500', and it won't burn your motor up.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-11, 06:10 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

I plan to wrench and media blast, so it seems like a no brainer to invest in a larger hose considering what you guys have said.

Should I go with 3/8 or 1/2?

Thanks again!
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-11, 07:18 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Check your blaster to see what it requires. I think that would be the largest volume drain. Remember 1/2" will drain volume twice as fast as your 1/4". I am sure you don't run it constantly, so you should be OK.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-11, 08:15 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,838
Received 855 Votes on 783 Posts
Actually a 1/2" orifice will move 4x the air that a 1/4" orifice would, given the area of a 1/2" circle is 4x larger than a 1/4" circle. God, I love math. LOL
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-11, 08:26 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's another thought. Perhaps I should put a "T" at the compressor and have one side for 1/4 and one side for 3/8.

BTW, this is the compressor I got:

Ingersoll Rand Electric Stationary Air Compressor 3 HP, 10.3 CFM @ 135 PSI, 230 Volt, Model# SS3L3

Someone was telling me that investing in an auto drain like this one would be a good idea:
Automatic Compressor Drain Kit

They said that I should replace the tube with brass, but other then that it's a good way to keep the compressor cleaned out. Anyone have experience with these?

Thanks again for all the input!
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-11, 02:29 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,947
Received 384 Votes on 340 Posts
I looked at those automatic drain kits but it didn't leave me 'warm and fuzzy'
I removed the petcock on my 60 gallon tank and installed an elbow and short length of pipe with shut off valve. I still have to bend down to drain off the tank, but it's easier to get to
 
  #9  
Old 02-25-11, 02:33 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's a good idea! Thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 02-25-11, 05:16 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
There's no need for a T on the compressor. Just install a quick disconnect. All hoses use the same size disconnect fittings, except at the hose end. Need a 1/2, hook it up. Need a 1/4, hook it up.
I have the auto drainer on my large compressor, and it works good for a while. You will need to, probably annually remove it and clean it really good, as the rusty water will have it's say so. You have to interrupt the air flow to the main valve (that's the black pitot type tube's job) Once it is interrupted by the compressor shutting down, about 2 seconds later, you hear a psshsh, and the immediate water has been evacuated.
 
  #11  
Old 02-25-11, 05:25 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All the quick disconnects are the same size? Your talking about the coupler, right? like this one:
5 Piece Solid Brass Quick Coupler Set

Wouldn't that restrict air flow? Don't get me wrong, it would be great if I can use the same size coupler on all the hoses. I just want to be sure I am understanding you correctly.
 
  #12  
Old 02-25-11, 09:34 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by chandler View Post
There's no need for a T on the compressor. Just install a quick disconnect. All hoses use the same size disconnect fittings, except at the hose end. Need a 1/2, hook it up. Need a 1/4, hook it up.
I have the auto drainer on my large compressor, and it works good for a while. You will need to, probably annually remove it and clean it really good, as the rusty water will have it's say so. You have to interrupt the air flow to the main valve (that's the black pitot type tube's job) Once it is interrupted by the compressor shutting down, about 2 seconds later, you hear a psshsh, and the immediate water has been evacuated.
I put a tee on my compressor because i have it pumping to 140 lbs turn off, so on one side of tee i have my regulator down to 90 lbs for most my air tools. On the other side of the tee is my hi pressure line for blowing things out with the higher pressure. Paul
 
  #13  
Old 02-26-11, 06:26 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Paul, now that's not a bad idea, since you use two pressures. Storing the hoses would be the only downside.
 
  #14  
Old 02-26-11, 06:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Paul, can you show me a pic of what your set up looks like with the different pressures on each end of the "T"? I am having trouble picturing what you've done.
 
  #15  
Old 02-26-11, 06:46 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chandler, When you said disconnect fittings are all the same size, are you talking about the coupler?
 
  #16  
Old 02-26-11, 06:59 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Cleveland, yes. One clarification on your request to Paul....you won't be changing the "PRESSURE", just the amount of volume. Pressure will always be at the business end. Wait on Paul's pix, but he probably has a multi sized tee to accomplish what he wants and hard screws his hoses to it, one after the pressure regulator for the lower pressure, like painting.
 
  #17  
Old 02-26-11, 07:06 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I really appreciate all this info!
 
  #18  
Old 02-26-11, 11:37 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by chandler View Post
Cleveland, yes. One clarification on your request to Paul....you won't be changing the "PRESSURE", just the amount of volume. Pressure will always be at the business end. Wait on Paul's pix, but he probably has a multi sized tee to accomplish what he wants and hard screws his hoses to it, one after the pressure regulator for the lower pressure, like painting.
I don't screw the hoses on every thing is quick coupling, so i can go to the 90 lb pressure for most of the air tools and couple it over to the 140 hi pressure for air blowing
things out. I will take some pic. later today. Paul.
 
  #19  
Old 02-26-11, 12:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sweet! Thanks again Paul!
 
  #20  
Old 02-26-11, 02:33 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok it is hard to teach a old dog new tricks, I got the pic. and i signed up for photobucket,
put the pic. in there, but don't know how to out them in here. If you send me a privet message with you email i will send them to you Paul
 

Last edited by marksr; 02-26-11 at 03:14 PM. Reason: removed email address for your protection
  #21  
Old 02-26-11, 04:04 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cleveland View Post
Sweet! Thanks again Paul!
Hi Paul here. I am putting the address of where my pic. are at later Paul
Image hosting, free photo sharing & video sharing at Photobucket
 
  #22  
Old 02-28-11, 02:34 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Paul,

The link didn't work, so I sent you my email.

Thanks again!
 
  #23  
Old 02-28-11, 05:42 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[QUOTE=paul52446m;1829034]Hi Paul here. I am putting the address of where my pic. are at later Paul
Image hosting, free photo sharing & video sharing at Photobucket[/Q

Pictures by paul52446m1 - Photobucket

I used the wrong address Paul
 
  #24  
Old 02-28-11, 05:45 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Holy big girl!!!

Is that pipe that goes down for releasing the air pressure?
 
  #25  
Old 02-28-11, 05:48 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cleveland View Post
Holy big girl!!!

Is that pipe that goes down for releasing the air pressure?
Just to blow out any water or dirt out of the air lines
 
  #26  
Old 02-28-11, 06:02 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmmm, I may have to add that. Wont cost more then a couple bucks and seems like a good idea.
 
  #27  
Old 02-28-11, 06:48 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 90
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Air compressor hose size question

Originally Posted by cleveland View Post
Hmmm, I may have to add that. Wont cost more then a couple bucks and seems like a good idea.
If i was going to do painting, i would have put a filter dryer on my line.
Since i don't paint , i just put a drop leg to blow water out of line. Also every time i use my air tools for a while,i put a couple of drops of that special oil for air tools just before a put them away. I also have a 1/4 turn ball valve under the belt guard to blow the water from the bottom of tank. I have a line tied to that valve going outside. This hole system is made up of used parts i bought about 15 years ago. Paul
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: