Chicago Pneumatic 3/8 Air Ratchet, old model, will not shut off?

Old 02-26-11, 01:58 PM
S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Chicago Pneumatic 3/8 Air Ratchet, old model, will not shut off?

I have an old Chicago Pneumatic 3/8 air ratchet I bought off eBay recently. It appears to be a CP 886 or CP 828?
I hooked it up for the first time, and it started up without the handle being pushed down? Air comes out of the top and halfway down the tool from the other air vent constantly? It will not shut off, and even with the air compressor on full-time, it WILL NOT build up more than 60 PSI while the tool is running non-stop. I know these tools run at 90 PSI.
The pin that pushes the handle out, I assume that is supposed to shut off the air ratchet, does extend the handle; but is hard to push back down.
I have never used an air ratchet before. I installed a fitting properly in the bottom of the air ratchet to hookup the air hose. It appears fine and my impact wrench, a CP 734H, works well and the air compressor builds up pressure over 90 PSI to operate my air impact wrench fine. So this air ratchet must be broken?
What's wrong and how do I fix it?? Is something set wrong somewhere that needs adjustment? Please help and thanks.

Old 02-26-11, 02:18 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
You'll probably start by putting a few drops of machine oil in the air intake. It is probably gummed up. If the thin oil doesn't do the trick, you may be in for a tear down. Let us know how the oil thingy goes.

Old 02-26-11, 02:49 PM
S
Thanks Chandler,