drilling a hole in a concrete wall

Old 01-08-01, 11:42 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question

I just bought myself a house and I am really new at all of this fix-it stuff, but I really want to learn. I am trying to attach a mailbox to my brick/concrete outside wall. The new mailbox ( a standard outside box) came with 2 blue plugs as well as the 2 screws.I have tried to make a hole into the mortar (between the bricks) using my biggest drill bit. I finally managed to get a small hole started but it does not seem to want to get bigger. I am worried that if I continue using the bit I have it will either break the bit or overheat my drill. The plug fits in only about 1/2 of the way. Do I need a special drill bit for mortar/concrete? If so, what do I ask for? How far does the plug have to go in before I put in the screw. And here is the dumbest question of all - the plug is pretty narrow at the bottom, (tapers to a point) and wider at the top. I don't see how it is going to stay in the drilled hole without falling out. Does something magical happen to the plug when the screw is put in? Thanks for any help you can pass along!

Old 01-08-01, 03:21 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool Anchors away!

Hi barb,

You are headed for failure. Plastic anchors and big postal mail boxes. Yikes! More importantly, you need a special type of drill bit called a masonry bit, AND even then, the bit diameter must be of the size specified for the plastic anchor as per the box that the anchors are packaged in.

Do this instead:

Go to Home Depot, where ever, look in the 'concrete fasteners' isle. Buy a box of blue colored concrete fasteners named TapCons. These puppies come with their own masonry bit that is sized for the screws you buy. Expect to spend around $5 or so. You drill a hole and screw in the screw. No anchor is required. Store the bit with the screws for the next time you need it. There is always another time.