2 stage air compressor

Old 01-13-12, 11:24 PM
F
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2 stage air compressor

My 2 stage air comp. Has ran fine until last week the electric motor just hums i can push on the pulley & it will run slugish up & down in rpm . I took the belts off and moved the comp. Pulley by hand it has air pressure givn me alot of resistance,then i will get past it then it will turn a little easier and so on . I hooked up a new motor and it will run but it pulls 80 amps when the nameplate is 20 amps .it also pulls my voltage down because of this load.i am an electrician its not the motor nor the start and run caps. Does anyone have any pointers ??

Old 01-14-12, 04:23 AM
Super Moderator
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Thumbs up Welcome to our forums!

You don't say if the motor appears to run fine when the belt is removed.
The first thing I would try is to make sure the tank is drained of air and then disconnect the air line from the compressor to the receiver tank and run it to see what happens.
If it runs ok then the check valve could be plugged or bad.

It would also be helpful if we had more info like the make and model and how old it is.
A picture of it uploaded to a free host like Photo Bucket with a link could also be useful.

Old 01-14-12, 12:13 PM
F
This air compressor is a champion rv15a . The motor is brand new & it does run fine . When i run the air comp. Rite now it pulls the motor down then i hafta shut it down because i am afraid of burning up the new motor. It does run but it wont run long when there is so much of a load on it. My amp probe reads 87 amps when the nameplate current is 20 amps @230 volts.when i turn the compressor pulley by hand it will turn approx. 1-turn then it builds air pressure & gets hard for a little bit then gets easier again, its almost like the air pressure is giving me this hard resistance. Thanks, fatbuoy

Old 01-14-12, 12:28 PM
Super Moderator
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts