miter saw

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-07-12, 03:03 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 421
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
miter saw

I have a 12" compound sliding miter saw with a sawdust bag on it. The only problem with the saw is that the dust bag doesn't catch any sawdust. It's a Chicago Electric Model 96698 (Harbor Freight). I contacted the tech serve and they told me the saw has a design problem and I should try hooking up a vacuum cleaner to it to catch the sawdust. I did but the sawdust comes out from the bottom of the blade guard. I wrote again and they said it's a design problem with that model and that's about it. Has anyone had this problem and if so how can I fix it? Instead I must blow it off with my compressor but that is quite dirty. Thanks.

Rich
 
  #2  
Old 08-07-12, 03:26 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,402
Received 743 Votes on 684 Posts
I've never owned a miter saw that has done well catching it's sawdust. Some have been better than others but there is always a mess to clean up.
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-12, 03:41 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,113
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Well...CE is a Harbor Freight brand I believe. You can't expect much other than a good cut.

My Rigid does a pretty good job collecting dust...and if I hook the vac up it's almost perfect.

It is what it is.
 
  #4  
Old 08-07-12, 06:49 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Go to Fastcap.com. They have an ingenious way of corralling miter saw dust. You'll see.
 
  #5  
Old 08-07-12, 07:08 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I've got the 10 inch non-sliding model and the sawdust bag is a joke on mine as well. I tried the vacuum cleaner hose instead of the bag with the same results you got.
 
  #6  
Old 08-08-12, 04:08 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 421
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Thank you all for your replies. I went cheaper and now I see the difference. As Gunguy45 stated, 'It is what it is'!
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-12, 04:26 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
My offset motor Ridgid does a good job of evacuating the dust. I put a plumbing elbow and fernco on my outlet to throw the waste down, so I have a pretty good control area of dust on the ground right behind the saw. I cut too much to use a bag. Like cutting 6 1/2 acres of grass with a grass catcher
 
  #8  
Old 08-08-12, 01:31 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 421
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Chandler,

I went to fastcap.com and I couldn't see where there is anything about dust collecting. Could you please explain how I could get to it? Thanks.

Rich
 
  #9  
Old 08-08-12, 01:37 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,605
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
I keep mine on a portable stand near the garage door and put it in the driveway when I use it. Just have to blow it off when I'm done.
 
  #10  
Old 08-08-12, 02:38 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Hey Rich, my copy was in the bathroom. Had to retrieve it. Page 24 of their catalog, here will give you an idea how to collect dust. Looks to be a good idea, especially if the saw is set up in a semi finished area and you want to contain the over all dust. FastCap 2012 Catalog
 
  #11  
Old 08-08-12, 04:11 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 421
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Thank you, Chandler. I will check into that.

Rich
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: