Recommendations for a good vaccum dust collector to use with power saws?

Old 03-23-13, 04:03 AM
A
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Recommendations for a good vaccum dust collector to use with power saws?

If I specifically search vacuums made by tool companies like Dewalt, Porter Cable, etc. The are like over $300. If I search shop vacs, I get $50 results. Am I missing something here? Why is there such a disparity? I'm not a professional, I won't have too much debris whenever I work. I'd like to stay at the cheap end, but I'm fairly new to the tool world so I would like to know something about the dust collection attachments that come with our circular saws, jig-saws, orbital sanders, etc. Are they universal? Are they made to fit run of the mill household shop vacs? Or, do you need to buy expensive vacuums made by the tool companies?

Would something like this work? Shop-Vac 9650600 3.0-Peak HP Pro Series Wet or Dry Vacuum, 6-Gallon - Amazon.com

Old 03-23-13, 04:27 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
For small pick up the vac you suggest is just fine. It may last a couple of years before failure, maybe longer. The better lines have heftier motors and inner workings, thus the higher pricing.

Tool trash pick up is another ball game. The outlets on most tools is 4" and attaches to comparable sized hoses which are attached to a rather large vacuum system, similar to this: MikesTools.com: Delta Dust Collector 50-720 Delta 1 HP Dust Collector 650 CFM - Mike's Tools

Old 03-23-13, 09:18 AM
Super Moderator
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I think Larry is thinking more of stationary power tools. Most hand power tools like sanders, saws, and such use a 1 1/4" hook up, so you'd want one of the smaller vacs for that. What I don't like about the one you linked is that it only has a 6' power cord. If correct, that's awfully short. It will restrict your movement and likely require an extension cord.