mo-9083 motor on craftsman compressor

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-17-14, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
mo-9083 motor on craftsman compressor

I have a 30gallon craftsman compressor that I bought from a guy that was not working. I thought I would try to fix it but I have read that there are two capacitors. I received it with no capacitors on it. When I got it I would plug it in and it would just humm. I added the proper start capacitor (400-480mfd, 165Vac, 50-60hz) now it will start for 5 seconds and then trip my breaker. Is there a run capacitor on this model? Any other info you want or need, post and I will get it to you. I can get pictures too. Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-17-14, 06:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,634
Received 515 Votes on 485 Posts
Are you running the motor on 120vac or 240vac ?
What is the current draw of the motor ?

I don't think you need two caps but the motor may be drawing too much current for the circuit you have it plugged into.
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-14, 07:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More Information

I have a little more information. I don't have any of the tools to see what the motor is drawing but I got a lot heavier duty extension cord and plugged it into a 20 amp breaker. It ran for about 15-20 seconds this time before it tripped the breaker. I was just about to move it to a 30 amp breaker when I could smell a burning smell coming from the motor itself (not the capacitor). What could this mean? There is also a wire that I don't know where it was suppose to go in the back of the motor. Below I will give you a bunch of pictures and a video of what I know so far. Thanks for any help!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fYuqFLV2Hnc
Compressor Photos by mkamrud | Photobucket
 
  #4  
Old 06-17-14, 08:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,634
Received 515 Votes on 485 Posts
Your motor part number is A.O.Smith K56A67B23.

It's a discontinued motor. I'm looking for the wiring diagram for it now.
 
  #5  
Old 06-17-14, 08:37 PM
Rough Rooster's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 405
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Friend bought a compressor like that with same symptoms. He brought it to me to check out. After much grief I downloaded an article on rotor testing. Followed instructions and discovered the rotor was bad.
He opted to make a roll around air tank out of it in an effort to salvage his $10.00.

http://www.pump-magazine.com/pump_ma...tortesting.pdf

Good article. Follow instructions and check your rotor.

RR
 
  #6  
Old 06-18-14, 07:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shoot. I hope not but thanks. I will take a look maybe tonight when I get home. When push comes to shove, I bought it with the intention of making it an expansion tank to my current compressor so I am not out much. I just really wish I could get that motor running. PJmax, I would still like to see a wiring diagram or at least know what that extra wire is for (curious mind). Thanks to you both.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: