Compressor won't shut off

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-15, 09:34 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Compressor won't shut off

I have a Campbell Hausfeld 6 Gallon Compressor from 2013 and it is continuously running. It does hold air when I turn it off and was working fine yesterday. What should be the first things I check?
 
  #2  
Old 05-05-15, 10:34 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,092
Received 68 Votes on 62 Posts
What does the gauge read? Is it reaching the cut off pressure? It's presumably compressing air, so where is the air going? Could be something like the pressure switch not doing its' job, letting it run up to the setting on the safety valve, and being expelled there. Or it could be a leak in the tank, a fitting, hose, or elsewhere, preventing the air in the tank from reaching the cut off pressure.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-15, 10:50 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the tank gauge read 150, 150 is the cut off point. but it kept running like it wasn't there so how would I check the pressure switch, and in terms of looking for leaks do I just feel around all the fittings for air?
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-15, 11:08 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,833
Received 361 Votes on 318 Posts
What happens when it hits 150 psi? does the pop off valve release air? does it continue to build pressure? 150 psi seems kind of high for a small compressor.
 
  #5  
Old 05-05-15, 11:47 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,092
Received 68 Votes on 62 Posts
Check the spec's on your particular unit, but the maximum pressure for a single stage air compressor is typically going to be in the 110-125 psi range. And it seems likely that the safety or pop off valve would have a maximum rating of 150 psi or less. This is the brass stem with a small hog ring in the end of it, and it should have the maximum pressure stamped in the body. Yes, as it continues to run you should feel air escaping someplace, likely around this valve, and/or maybe someplace else. If you have been running it at 150 psi though, you may have cooked the valves in the head.
 
  #6  
Old 05-05-15, 12:28 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When it hits 150 psi it will hold there for a second and then it makes another sound like another fan or motor is turning on and does not continue to build pressure.

The tank is rated at 150 psi max with the valve stem being rated at 170 psi max
 
  #7  
Old 05-05-15, 07:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,853
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
That sounds like the relief valve opening at 150psi.

150psi is way too high for that little compressor. As someone mentioned.... the valves may be cooked. I'd agree with that.

Do you have the type of pressure switch with the lever on it ?
If you need help addressing the pressure switch you need to give us a picture of it or the model number for the compressor. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html
 
  #8  
Old 05-05-15, 09:26 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the model number is mw250000.

Also I have a question that might seem stupid, but can anyone explain why they would plaster the "150 psi max" all over the thing, let it go up that high, and give it a relief valve that is way too high?

Also I might be a bit confused about what a relief valve does but my relief valve does not have excess air coming out of it or "pop" when it hits 150. The sound I am referring to sounds like it is coming from "inside" the plastic housing. Would a video or a audio recoding of it happening help?
 
  #9  
Old 05-05-15, 11:07 PM
Piddler's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds to me like your high pressure switch is not working. I would unplug this compressor and have someone check it for you. If it's under warranty, return it immediately.
 
  #10  
Old 05-05-15, 11:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,853
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
You may just be hearing a leak. I see where CH states 150psi max for that compressor. Single stage compressors are rarely run at that pressure because they weren't designed to go that high.

I couldn't find any useful info on your compressor about normal operating pressure. I did find one retailer that still has the pressure switch available for that unit. You may need to call CH technical services and ask them about the operating pressure issue. There number is in the manual below.

Manual can be found here...
CH power/IMAGES/pdfs/manual07/634000_0811-web.pdf

Pressure switch if needed....
WL052900AV PRESSURE SWITCH
 
  #11  
Old 05-15-15, 02:01 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well the company had no explanation as to why it is set so high, but it looks like most compressors run that high. so I guess I will replace the part and hope for the best.
 
  #12  
Old 05-19-15, 11:56 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That part is no longer made. Is there a universal part that will work?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: