New Makita air compressor: leak at fittings

Old 07-11-16, 08:40 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Makita air compressor: leak at fittings

Hi all,

I am totally new to the compressors world, so bear with me
I just purchased a brand new Makita MAC700 with its Makita T-01133 1/4 by 50 polyurethane air hose.

The hose has a 3/8 male connector on both sides, so in order to connect it to the compressor using the quick connect, I bought a couple of hose fittings (Industrial type).

I could instead screw the other side 3/8 male connector directly to the blow gun 1/4-Inch NPT.

Now, although the female hose connector is tight with the hose fitting I bought, there is air leaking I can clearly hear and feel when touching the connector with a finger, also some condense.
I do not think this is normal and besides, if I use the blow gun for, say, 8-10 secs, the compressor begins to charge.

Clearly if the connector does not seal properly, the compressor is not used efficiently and it does not help with the charging time.
In general, is this model supposed to charge that often?

One last thing, very strange for me.
With the compressor, I got a bottle of oil, sealed -181122-A (0.3L) .
Before the break-in I poured all the bottle in the pump crankcase but surprisingly, the level did not reach the recommended middle of the sight glass.
I would have expected to be more the enough, but I will have to buy more to reach the right level.

Thanks for your suggestions/thoughts.

Alex

Sponsored Links
Old 07-11-16, 09:00 PM
Group Moderator
Received 243 Votes on 224 Posts
Not all air fittings are created equal. Its hard to know what a good quality one is by looking at it, or even by looking at the price... but its a safe bet to avoid the cheap box store or discount store fittings. Lowest price definitely equals lowest quality.